Posted by: Erin | October 26, 2008

So yesterday I completely LOST IT while shopping

I had to buy something to wear to a wedding – I’ve been putting this off for a long time. The wedding is this coming Friday. I just hate shopping though, for a bunch of reasons, so I usually put it off until it’s critical that I get it done. Of course this just amplifies the anxieties and makes everything worse but whatever…

Anyways … I’m in the dressing room trying stuff on when a frickin teenaged boy (about 13 yrs old?) just barges in then has the fucking audacity to start laughing! Little asshole. I shoved him out hard enough for him to stumble then quickly dressed. When I got out of the dressing room, not only did I NOT receive an apology from him but he fucking BLAMED me for not locking the door. I’m afraid I completely LOST it at that point. His mother apologized for him, said he was sorry. I said first of all he is NOT sorry. He laughed. That means that there is no feeling of being sorry AT ALL. Then I asked if he was a stupid child. *silence at this point in the whole store* . When she finally spoke she simply said ‘What?’. I repeated the question. I asked if he was stupid. I said I had to ask because a skinny teenaged boy would have to be completely lacking in any brain power to think there was ANYTHING for him to try on in a clothing store for PLUS SIZED WOMEN. I could, however excuse this behaviour if he was mentally deficient. I asked again if he was stupid. She tried to apologize again on his behalf. I said forget it. I don’t want your damn  apology. I WANT you to teach your idiot son how to act in public. I WANT to feel safe to try on clothes in a store, without the worry of some asshole child coming in to point and laugh.

*sigh* At this point I was so angry that I was at the point of tears (why the hell do I have to frickin cry when I’m pissed off???) and I was shaking.

I handed the clothes over to one of the staff who came over and when asked if I wanted her to bring that to the desk for me, I asked her if she was fricking kidding? I said I’m handing it to you nicely so I don’t throw it at those people. I’m in no mood to purchase anything from this store at this point.

Then I walked out.

Today I found even more reasons to hate people (men) in general but I’m not even going there in this rant.

Question – Did I over react? My stomach and head are still hurting over this. It really does astound me, how easy it is for me to lost all sense of self confidence. When I walked into the story, I wasn’t looking forward to trying a bunch of stuff on. I was in a pleasant mood though. I was (at that point) determined to come out of this positively though. I figured a good attitude would help with the success of the shopping trip.

Responses

  1. I don’t think you over reacted. I think the fact that she wasn’t grabbing the child up by the ear or the hair until HE apologized means that you had the right to react the way you did.
    If MY 13 year old boy did that, I’d snatch him up so fast he wouldn’t know what hit him. Of course, my children know better than to go near the dressing rooms in women’s store, heck, I can hardly get them near the dressing rooms in their own section, lol.

  2. I am SO SORRY this happene! And the boy may have gotten it naturally because obviously his MOTHER is stupid! She not only should have made him apologize, she should have taught him better. Please don’t let this waste of space wreck your confidence – you ARE loved!

  3. Oh, Erin, I am so sorry you went through that. First off, I agree with Alana. If my 13 yo son had ever done something like that, you can bet he would be not only kissing your feet with his apology, he’d be apologizing to the people who work in the store as well. And getting his own ass kicked by moi.

    But I also agree that I’ve taught him better than that. Shame on this woman for allowing his behavior.

    And I hope that you find a beautiful dress that shows off what a beautiful woman you are. Because you are.

  4. Hugs, I hope the rest of your week is much better and that you have a wonderful time at the wedding.

  5. You didn’t overreact, I don’t think. Kids can be very thoughtless. 😐

  6. I’m so sorry you found yourself in this situation in the first place, Erin. You should be able to shop in a comfortable, secure setting and not have to worry about anyone charging in on you, especially a boy. Shame on him for acting this way and even more shame all over his mother for not teaching him better in the first place.

    Big hugs to you, sweetie.

  7. 13 year old boys can be tards. I have one who’s just a year over that and he’s STILL a tard. Though, he’d never barge in on someone in a women’s clothing store ’cause I’d KILL HIM first, ask questions later.

    I’m just that kind of mom. LOL

    Feel better, babe 🙂

    DC 🙂

  8. sorry for my harsh words. I was actually hoping you would actually understand what I was trying to say. I guess it’s hard to see things clearly when you’re angry.

  9. I saw things perfectly clearly mike. I disagree with your assessment and was getting ticked off as I typed my response so I decided to get rid of what was giving me stress.

    I’ve been trying to look at things (in general) more positively and it just wasn’t working for me after your 2 cents.

  10. I don’t think ou don’t need to look at things positively per se. It can lead tounrealistic perceptions. Just look at things as they are. Ask yourself why you were so angry in the first place? Because the kid laughed at you? or because you’re fat?

  11. because he violated my space – my privacy and because he demonstrated a complete lack of respect – as did his mother/caregiver/adult who he was with in the store.

    And yes I do need to look for the positive. I’m tired of feeling negative. You attract with you give out so I’m working on being positive.


Leave a Reply

Categories

