Posted by: Erin | March 16, 2008

I just finished reading

Change of Heart by Jodi Picoult.

From the back cover:

Can we save ourselves, or do we rely on others to do it? Is what we believe always the truth?

One moment June Nealon was happily looking forward to years full of laughter and adventure with her family, and the next, she was staring into a future that was as empty as her heart. Now her life is a waiting game. Waiting for time to heal her wounds, waiting for justice. In short, waiting for a miracle to happen.

For Shay Bourne, life holds no more surprises. The world has given him nothing, and he has nothing to offer the world. In a heartbeat, though, something happens that changes everything for him. Now, he has one last chance for salvation, and it lies with June’s eleven-year-old daughter, Claire. But between Shay and Claire stretches an ocean of bitter regrets, past crimes, and the rage of a mother who has lost her child.

Would you give up your vengeance against someone you hate if it meant saving someone you love? Would you want your dreams to come true if it meant granting your enemy’s dying wish?

Wow.

How do you decide whether or not a book is a good one? Good is such a weak word really. I dunno.

Change of Heart is intense (as are all of Ms. Picoult’s books). I don’t know if I can call it enjoyable. To me enjoyable means something that makes me smile or feel happy. I can’t say that this book did that for me. It did make me think (and continue to think after the book was completed). It made me wonder what my beliefs are regarding the subject matter in the book. It was definitely a book that I couldn’t easily put down. I read it as much as possible yesterday (started it early afternoon) before I had to go out. I got home at midnight and decided to read just one more chapter. One more chapter turned into 3:30 am. I was up at 9 and finished it around 10:30.

I guess the best way to describe this book is – It’s a compelling story. A difficult one to tell but important I think. This book would be an amazing story to read and use as a discussion tool in an ethics class, a religion class, a law class perhaps.

I’m pretty sure that, while this one will stay on my keeper shelf, I won’t be re-reading it. At least not any time soon. I think just seeing it on the shelf though, will be enough to make me think and question things. I don’t think that’s a bad thing though is it?

Responses

  1. I Hate Jodi Picault’s books. She takes cheap shots at every emotion and relies on shock tactics to keep the reader hooked. I read one of her books and Swore I’d never get suckered in by her again. *shudders*
    I suppose that a strong reaction means she’s a good writer, but this reader just can’t appreciate suffering for suffering’s sake.


Leave a Reply

Categories

